How subscriptions work
Trail offers 3 simple subscription plans. More on what the Solo, Team and Standard plans offer, here.
Everyone gets 14 days free. Get setup, get comfortable and feel free to cancel anytime.
Once a subscription is set up after the free trial period and you’ve activated your account (entered your billing details), it is charged for 1 site minimum (live or otherwise) and every live site thereafter.
This means that for each billing period this number of sites will be charged regardless of site status.
Sonia’s Sweet Shop has just finished the free trial on 1st Jan and have set their 3 sites to go live on 1st February They will be billed for one site until 1st February and after they will be billed for all 3 live sites.
Pay per site
In Trail, everything revolves around Sites. A site might be a location, store or unit - usually a distinct physical area with its own processes and reporting.
Note: Only Managers & Admins can manage sites.
You can create as many sites as you like on the Team or Standard Plan.
As per our terms and conditions, you will be charged for a minimum of 1 site after the free trial ends, and subsequent sites once they're set to Live. Your subscription will then be updated and you'll be charged a pro rata rate for any sites added. If you have no live sites and plan to keep it that way for a while we recommend Pausing or Cancelling [direct to pause/cancel] your subscription so that you’ll stop being charged.
Tilly’s Tagliatelle has 3 live sites billed on the 1st of each month. Their 4th site goes live on the 15th of May. Their June invoice will contain the usual 4 sites charge per month plus 15 days worth of the 4th Site.
You will always be billed for a site from the date it goes live in Trail whether you set the site to go live today, or in two weeks time. If the date is in the middle of a billing cycle you will be charged pro-rata for this site on your next monthly invoice.
If you’ve accidentally set a site live when you didn’t mean to, reach out to us and we can sort this out for you.
New teams and managers can safely explore Inactive Sites - their changes won't be saved or reported on.
You can also set a Site to Inactive - even temporarily - and your invoice will be updated from the next invoice.
Changing your subscription
You can change, pause, or cancel your subscription anytime via the Billing Panel.
Simply go into your Billing Panel, click ‘ Change Plan’ and select your new Plan.
Pausing your subscription
We completely understand that sometimes you may need to pause your account for all sorts of reasons. If you’d like to pause your Trail account, select the Pause Subscription option when clicking on the Change Subscription button in the Billing Panel.
Or just let us know through firstname.lastname@example.org or the chat box online and we can sort that for you. You won’t be billed for the period of time you’re paused and you can pick back up whenever you’re ready as you left.
Cancelling your subscription
You can cancel your Trail account at any time. Just pop into your billing panel and scroll to the ‘Change Subscription’ button. From here, you’ll be prompted to just provide some feedback and this will also alert our accounts team to cancel your account for you.